The Morgeez Magazine | The ultimate indie music promotion platform.

United States: Suspends PR Visa for nationals of Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar and Nigeria

0 100

The US President Donald Trump’s “America First” Immigration policy has just unpacked new travel rules that will see Permanent Residence Visas issuance to certain countries suspended indefinitely. The countries on this new list of target by the US Homeland Department are Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar and Nigeria while Sudan and Tanzania will see their “diversity visas” program stopped all together.

According to Acting Homeland Security Secretary Chad Wolf, “these countries, for the most part, want to be helpful,” Wolf said, “but for a variety of different reasons simply failed to meet those minimum requirements that we laid out.”

Belarus was also billed to appear on the list but report later has it that the country has taken stringent action to meet the US set-out requirements, so they were dropped from the list and will not be affected by this new policies targeted mostly at countries with high rate of immigrants.

Trump who seem to enjoy support of majority of white voters has made cracking down on immigration a focus of his 2020 re-election campaign. Reuter Reports.

Nigeria sends the most immigrants to the United States. The U.S. State Department issued approximately 7,900 immigrant visas to Nigerians in fiscal year 2018, which began Oct. 1, 2017.

Geoffrey Onyeama, Nigeria’s foreign affairs minister, said he was “disappointed” by the decision. The U.S. State Department will host meetings in Washington on Monday and Tuesday with Onyeama, other officials and business leaders.

So If you are Nigerian and you had planned on visiting the US, you might just start looking towards another direction.

Source Yahoo News
Via Reuters

Leave A Reply